Chess

Chess

Let me get this out there right now: I don’t know how to play chess, and this little fact is somehow a source of endless amusement for a close friend of mine. My brother also used this fact to his advantage when he offered to ‘teach’ me the game, but simply took it as an easy win. That’s some brotherly love in action right there.

As you might be able to tell, my relationship with the game is not exactly a happy one, and we tend to simply ignore one another and this works quite well for both involved. Of course, things get more complicated when you consider the popularity of chess, and for some reason I only seem to run in circles where the norm is to know how to play chess.

However, on my facebook news feed thingie just the other day, a post popped up saying that a girl named Chess had commented on the photo of some person I befriended many years ago, despite not really knowing them.

I thought, hmm, chess – as a name? How intriguing, and promptly set about putting together this post. As you do.

My initial reaction was that Chess could simply be a nickname for Chelsea, and that much is true. It could alternatively be short for another name, but we’d be here forever speculating.

But the more I think about it the more I go:

yeah, Chess as a name is a brilliant idea.

And just think about it, the game of chess has this whole thing going about it being an intellectual game, and that works for it. Plus, many lovely people answer to both Jess and Tess – I even know a Vanessa who goes by Ness.

Then again, why would I name a child of mine after a game I can’t even play? Food for thought there, I guess.

Categories: Name Profile | Tags: | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Chess

  1. In one of her Nameberry 9s, Abby mentioned a celebrity baby boy named Chelsea, and he had the nickname Chess.

    You could also use it as a short form of Cheshire, although it doesn’t seem terrifically likely that anyone would call their child Cheshire.

    Like

  2. Awkward Turtle

    I think it works well for Francesa. 🙂

    Like

  3. I like it as a nickname for Chesten, as well as the nicknames Chessie, Chestnut and Cheshire cat. I also agree that it works very well for Francesca.

    Like

  4. Makes me think of Ludo and Uno. Beautiful names unfortunately more known as a board game and a card game respectively. I like Chess as a nickname for Francesca, and somehow Chestnut and Cheshire have a sort of GP appeal to me. The Norwegian name for Chestnut is Kastanje (prn. kas-STAN-yuh) and the scientific name is Castanea which I think would make a beautiful name with Chess as a fun, not-very-intuitive-but-makes-sense-anyway nickname… ^^

    Like

Join The Conversation

Blog at WordPress.com.

