Osborne

When I”m bored I doodle, as I’m sure most other people do. The above picture is my attempt at a giraffe from Wednesday morning. Now, to be fair I was aiming to make it a childish drawing and was actually interrupted before I could finish my handiwork (something about how I should doodle on my own paper, rather than on my friend’s ?!)

This was actually the third of a series of drawings (the previous two being a snail and a cat), and after my friend complained about how the name I gave to the snail (Sammy) was ‘too mainstream’, I gave the giraffe the first random-and-not-popular name that came to mind.

Which just so happened to be Osborne.

Whilst I’m not 100% on why Osborne just so happened to be at the forefront of my mind, I can say a little bit more about the name in question.

First off, this name also had two other relatively common variants: Osbourne and Osborn. All three versions ultimately come from the Old English name Osbeorn, which derives from two elements:

  • os, meaning god
  • beorn, meaning either man or bear

In terms of popularity as a first name, well, I can say for sure that 3 Osborns were born in 2002 and that’s the only name data we have for the name.

However, I do know for a fact that Osborne however whichaway you spell it is most certainly used as a middle name, since I now know at least two guys with Osborne as a middle.

Suffice to say, this is another one of those names which is proportionally used to a much greater extent in the middle name slot.

Categories: Name Profile | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Join The Conversation

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

