Something Special about S

Puppet Sooty also bears a S word for a name, from my trip to the Childhood Museum in London

Something a teacher at school always used to tell me was that if you every spotted a pattern, just run with it. And that’s the basis of today’s post, since I’ve come to realise that I’ve covered quite a few S word/names recently. Don’t believe me? Here’s a quick rundown of the names I’ve covered:

Sunday, Sage, Silver, SunnyStone, Sax, Soya and Sable

Clearly, I’ve got S words/names on the mind, so let’s complete the set with a few more ideas. First off, there are the obvious choices in this category of names, with both Summer and Scarlett in the Top 30 in 2010 in England&Wales.

1. Soul

The third daughter of the Cakies clan: True, Brave, Soul and Glow and out of all the names, this is the one which really clicked for me. Maybe it’s because she appeals to my rather relaxed nature, or maybe it’s plainly because we share the same letters, more or less. Either way, I’m on my way towards really seeing the merits of the name. It’s definition can be given as:

-The spiritual or immaterial part of a human being or animal, regarded as immortal.
-A person’s moral or emotional nature or sense of identity.

Whilst I do doubt the Church, I firmly believe in the idea of souls, especially ones named Maisie who live in the marmalade sky. the great philosopher Plato believed that there is a world of forms, from where our souls came from before they became a part of us. All our knowledge comes from the world of forms, thus definitions of forms such as beauty exist in the world of forms. This is part of Plato and Aristotle’s nature vs. nurture debate.

2. Sistine

By the time Sylvester Stallone’s fourth child came along, he’d already welcomed two sons named Sage and Seargeoh and a daughter named Sophia. Sistine Rose is the name selected, probably inspired by the Vatican chapel of the same name. The part of the chapel most known is the ceiling, which plays host to one of the best known religious paintings, which depicts the creation of Adam by the hand of God. This particular painting by Michelangelo has been subject to spoof alterations, such as the one where a jellyfish-like alien takes the place of God.

3. Sea

This name has also seen use on a notable person’s child, as it’s the name of one of Kelly Bensimon’s daughters (the other is called Thaddeus), Sea Louise. The name Océane is much loved by the French and Rio was likely given to many daughters of Duran Duran fans, so water-inspired names are nothing new. The only difference is this one is said exaxtly the same as another word: see. Like perhaps many people, I remember the feeling of dread when a teacher wrote see me in the margin of my schoolbook, which may be a reason why this name is less than practical.

However, there is no denying the genius behind Sea Lousie, a name which flows better than many a stream. I think her niche may very well be in hyphen names, when there’s a chance to really sell the name when paired with another.

Wildcard: Sycamore

Oh how much we love the wildcard choices I occasionally throw out there. This one is actually a family name of mine, so I can wax lyrical all day about what’s great, and not so great about the name. The fact that the first syllable coincides with the word sick is something kids will pick up on. The great part? Sycamore Trees produce some of the best seeds – helicopter ones which twirl crazily about if you throw them up in the air. It’s the simple things in life.

In terms of my family, we know from my Grandma’s research into the name that we were originaly Sicklemores, inspired by the farming tool, but the spelling eventually morphed into what it is today, with likely influence from the tree.

Categories: Name List, Word Names | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Something Special about S

  1. I rather like Sycamore, though the nicknames are likely to come thick and fast. Still, I’m a great believer placing responsibility for bullying, etc on the perpetrators, not the objects — and Sycamores are wonderful trees 🙂

    Like

  2. Sicklemore is fantastic too – it reminds me of a sickle moon seen through the branches of a sycamore tree.

    If you didn’t get teased much, then maybe other Sycamores won’t either?

    Like

  3. namemuststay

    No matter what they mean, I think S names sound totally ‘soft’ and ‘soothing.’ Which sounds like irony but it isn’t, I swear!

    Like

Join The Conversation

Blog at WordPress.com.

