Sibset of the Week: The Larges

 

A Quiet Night In by Jill Murphy features The Large Family, from walker.co.uk

This week we’re drifting slightly into a sibset I grew up reading about, as did my younger siblings when the books about the Large family written by Jill Murphy came into their grubby hands. I actually checked the books, which currently reside on my youngest sister’s shelf until they move home to Oxfam, and most of them still have my name written in large, childish handwriting in the front.

Larry and Linda and the fortunate parents of four children and in constant search of peace and quiet. I suspect my parents gifted me the book in an effort to earn more peace and quiet themselves, since they too are the parents of four, and both sibsets in question involve a rather lovely Lucy, although she’s the youngest of the Large children, not the eldest as I am. In age order, they are:

Lester

Luke

Laura

Lucy

In keeping with the L theme, the Aunt of the four children is Lettie, and her son is called Lucien.

As for other L names, there are a handful of other names in the Top 100 in the separated data for England&Wales for the next generation of this fictional family:

Lily, Lilly, Lillie, Lola, Layla, Laila, Lexi, Lexie, Lauren, Lucie, Lois, Libby, Lacey, Lowri, Leah, Lucas, Lewis, Logan, Leon, Louis, Luca, Louie, Liam, Leo, Levi and Lloyd.

Luke and Lucy are both in the Top 100, whilst Lester and Laura are not.

I feel another A is for Apple post in the horizon, given the large number of names involved. It also leads me nicely onto a little find of my own today when a friend, Lila, introduced me to her sister, Clementine. Both are in their teens, so their parents were really ahead of the times.

Categories: Sibset of the Week | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Sibset of the Week: The Larges

  1. Awkward Turtle

    I do have a soft spot for same letter themes, within reason (similar styles, not too similar in sound). I quite like this one, although I’m guessing that the different styles show different personalities. Or maybe I’m being style sensitive.

    Like

    • It has just occred to me that this is the second Sibset post in a row where all the kids share initials. May have to shake that up for next Monday, indeed I found a real corker in my drafts graveyard last night 😉

      Like

  2. Lila and Clementine – lovely! 🙂

    Like

Join The Conversation

Blog at WordPress.com.

